Thank you for reading WJPS news.  To better address the needs of our audience, we encourage you to contact us.  Student body and staff are encouraged to write letters and suggest ideas for coverage.

Please email Ms. Sackstein, faculty adviser, at ssackstein@wjps.org

Screen shot 2014-10-21 at 8.32.15 AMCo-Editor-in-Chief: Adva Fuchs

adva.fuchs@wjps.org

Welcome to my home:) my name is Adva Fuchs and I’m the Co-Editor n Chief of WJPS News’ the Blazer.Thinking is probably my biggest passion, after all what is the world without the philosophers that make it extremely complicated? experience each moment, try new things, feel new things, and then write those feelings down. Believe me, the more you write now, the more you have to look back and laugh at later

 

Screen shot 2014-10-21 at 8.30.16 AMCo-Editor-in-Chief: Markella Giannakopoulos

markella.giannakopoulos@wjps.org

Hey everyone, my name is Markella and im the co- editor in chief. I love reading and eating chocolate. I love writing for the newspaper and when I get into the zone of writing nothing can stop me unless the bell rings and then class is over for the day.

 

Screen shot 2014-10-21 at 8.33.35 AMCo-Manager: Mohammed Kazmi

mohammed.kazmi@wjps.org

Hey, My name is Mohammed Kazmi. I’m a senior at WJPS. I Love to play basketball, learn and help people. I’m deeply involved with technology and use it on a daily basis. Challenges are my favorite because they are just waiting to be conquered. Counting down to graduation! #WJPSENIORS

Co Manager: Amada Guapisaca

amada.guapisaca@wjps.org

IMG_20140829_3News editor: Da Hae  Jung

dahae.jung@wjps.org

Hello, I am the news editor of the WJPS news. I love reading and writing about stories that are happening daily in our community. Writing is something I just love to do and will never let it go.

 

 

Screen shot 2014-10-21 at 8.22.38 AMCo-Feature editor: Ruchi Vaidya 

Ruchi.vaidya@wjps.org

 

 

 

Co-Feature editor: Alice Mungyu

alice.mungyu@wjps.org

Despite being tall, I’m pretty inactive. In fact, I can sit in front of my laptop and binge watch TV shows such as Supernatural, Big Bang Theory, Pretty Little Liars and Glee. I am sadly too obsess with Harry Potter, The Mortal Instruments, and Percy Jackson. I work well under pressure as I am a procrastinator. For me, Newspaper is one of the classes I enjoy taking because I am able to write freely without any bounds.

 

Entertainment editor: Laina Vitarelli

laina.vitarelli@wjps.org

Literary editor: Essence Bryant

essence.bryant@wjps.org

 

Screen shot 2014-10-21 at 8.25.18 AMOpinions editor: Melanie Carmona

melanie.carmona@wjps.org

My name is Melanie Carmona and I spend must of my time on Tumblr and eating chocolate. I really enjoy reading, over sized sweaters and knee high socks. I’m obsessed with the band Arctic Monkeys and their lead singer Alex Turner. So rad.

 

 

Better SAT PhotoCo-Sports editor: Jordan Fickling

Jordan.fickling@wjps.org

I’m currently share the position as “Sports Editor”  for WJPS News. I enjoy my position and the responsibilities that come with it. My favorite sports are Basketball and Football, however I still keep my self notified of the current events of other sports I don’t watch as much. My favorite subjects are Literature and History. I love writing however, I understand how hard it is to adapt to the Journalistic style of writing. I will do my best to help the Juniors become acclimated to Newspaper and have a great time reporting for WJPS.

Co-Sports editor: Christopher Petronella

christopher.petronella@wjps.org

Website Manager: Samantha Aversano

samantha.aversano@wjps.org

Fact-Checker: Arthur Wilson

arthur.wilson@wjps.org

Hey everyone. My name is Arthur, and I’m this year’s Senior fact checker. Before your article can be posted online it always goes through me to be scanned for anything further from the truth. Aside from that, I enjoy practicing the piano and playing PC games when I’m not busy with studying and college preparation.

Screen shot 2014-09-16 at 8.23.59 AMPhotography editor: Christopher Dadic

Christopher.dadic@wjps.org

 

 

Senior Staff Reporters:

Junior Staff Reporters

  • Abhishek Singh, junior co-editor-in-chief
  • Aja Landolfi, junior co-editor-in-chief
  • Alicia Massey
  • Brittany Melosh, junior co-manager
  • Briyahna Rice, junior arts editor
  • Christos Troumouhis
  • Eneid Papa, junior web manager
  • Esther Animalu, Freshman contributing reporter
  • Gabriella Grimando
  • Helena Yeung
  • Ifra Mahmood
  • Jacklyn Thompson, junior news editor
  • Jamie Jensen
  • Keith Loh
  • Kelly Leem, junior fashion blogger
  • Kerwin Arenas, junior sports editor
  • Leanna Tabora, junior entertainment editor
  • Madeline Heinsen
  • Michael Fiscaletti, junior fact checker and copy editor
  • Michelle Tejada
  • Rebecca Costanza, junior opinions editor
  • Sabrina Kanavatsas, junior co-manager
  • William Torres, junior feature editor
  • Yealin lee, junior news co-editor and art editor

Website Staff:

Staff Photographers:

  • Lizbeth Loarca
  • Brenda Montero
  • Vanessa Ortega

Leave a comment

Back to Top

WJPS News switched from a monthly newspaper (named The Blazer) to an online convergent media site. Now, working with the school’s broadcast, The Highlight and the yearbook The Byline, we are hoping to bring the information for students to one place.

Search